Many people think that driving with a suspended license is not as grave as other misdemeanors and felonies. While that may be true, the penalties for such offenses could be just as severe as more serious crimes. The State of Florida and the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) does not suspend driving licenses for no reason. If you are guilty of irresponsible driving, or if you have committed serious misdemeanors and felonies, only then will they suspend your driving license.
If charged with driving with a suspended license, it is advisable to approach an experienced law firm like Broward Criminal Lawyer immediately. Deescalating the situation is the best course of action when faced with such circumstances. You need top notch representatives who will do everything they can to get you out of this situation in little time.
Penalties for Driving with a Suspended License in Florida
In Florida, the fines and penalties for driving with a suspended license vary depending on the number of times you have committed the offense. Usually the fines or the duration of jail time will increase the more you ignore the license suspension. The penalties for driving with a suspended license in Florida are:
- First Conviction
If this is just your first offense, the court will more than likely charge you with a second-degree misdemeanor. Such crimes have fines that reach up to $500 and a maximum of 60 days in jail.
- Second Conviction
If caught driving with a suspended license for the second time, your second-degree misdemeanor will be promoted to a first-degree misdemeanor. That means that the corresponding penalties will exponentially increase. A first-degree misdemeanor is punishable by up to $1000 in fines and one whole year in prison.
- Third Conviction
If you have been caught driving with a suspended license for the third time, the level of your crime will be promoted from a misdemeanor to a third-degree felony. Crimes under third-degree felonies often have a maximum fine of up to $5000 or a maximum of 5 years in jail.
The state of Florida will consider you a habitual traffic offender if you have accumulated a particular number of convictions within a 5-year period. People classified as habitual traffic offenders may have their licenses suspended or even revoked in some cases. Habitual offenders may even push the state to have their vehicles impounded if the situation calls for it.
Seek the Help of a Responsible Florida Law Practice like Broward Criminal Law
Even a simple second-degree misdemeanor can have an adverse effect on your present and future life opportunities. To prevent being stigmatized by criminal convictions, it is best to approach a law firm with vast experience in the field.
There are numerous defenses that can be used when charged with driving with a suspended license. Some of these include not knowing that your license was suspended, legal challenges to the validity of the stop, and not driving on a public highway.
Let us help you figure out a way to get out of this situation! Contact an experienced law firm like Broward Criminal Law today to know more!